100 Top Book lists

Posted on 24 August 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

I’m going to spend a bit of time going over some book lists. I came across one on Facebook, completed it and was looking at other people’s anwers only to discover some of them were looking at different lists. It turns out there are lots of different lists. Some are Australian, some are from the US and some from the UK. I’ve found a number of them, completed them and will publish the results in over the next few days.

The lists are very interesting and I’ve noted that my reading tends to be more British than anything. It’s something I’ve suspected for a few months and it’s nice to have it clarified. Using these lists I’m able to look back at my life and realise I was very much a British reader when I was younger and now I’m more global but the majority of my preferred books are still British.

One striking point is the books that are on almost all the lists. They seem to bridge any cultural gap. There are other books I’d expect to be on one of the lists but aren’t. At the end I might compile my own list and I’ll see how many books I get.

The one thing that’s common to almost all of these books is that they are all in English. Some have been translated from other languages but the bulk of them were written in English. I’d like to issue a challenge for those people who read in another language as well as English. Show me your top books in your language of choice. It doesn’t have to be 100 books, but I’d like to see what books you consider to be the top. Either put a comment here or email me the list on sales @ suzs-space.com.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

