Archive for September 24th, 2009

Books I’ve started reading

Posted on 24 September 2009. Filed under: reading | Tags: , |

I don’t claim this post to be exciting it’s more of an explanation as to why I haven’t been reviewing many books recently. I haven’t managed to complete a book for about a month and it’s not just because I’m busy but also due to the books I’ve been starting. Anyway, here we go.

What Maisie Knew by Henry James. I didn’t even make it through the Preface of this book. If you’ve read it and would like to review it I’d appreciate hearing from you.

Owls Do Cry by Janet Frame. The problem with this book is it’s very good and needs more devotion than I have at present. Normally I only have the chance to read for a few minutes at a time and this is a book that just doesn’t lend itself to this style of reading. I really need to sit down and read it for an hour or so. I’ve decided to put it aside until our next holiday when I’ll be able to do it justice.

Billy Budd, Sailor and Other Stories by Herman Melville. An interesting choice, by the author of Moby Dick. I haven’t even made it through the introduction. I will make it through this book, might have to skip the rest of the introduction but I will get there. Sometime I’ll read Moby Dick as well.

Those Barren Leaves
by Aldous Huxley. This book is so different to Brave New World, it’s a completely different genre. There’s lots of moments where people look at themselves and each other to see if they’re doing the right thing to attact each other and this self examination can take forever. It’s really not my style of book and I struggled to get 1/4 of the way through it.

Edgar Cayce on the Dead Sea Scrolls by Glenn D Kittler. There is absolutely no way of comparing this book with any of the others in the post. It is meant to be readings and discussions of readings by Edgar Cayce, a ‘prophet’, of the people and personalities surrounding Jesus. I’ve struggled to maintain an open mind while I’ve struggled to get 3/4 of the way through the book. I think I might cave in and stop.

This last book will be my first new book review in a while. It is Dark Side of the Sun by Terry Pratchett. I’m just about 1/2 way through and am finding it much easier reading than any of the other listed books.

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( Comments Off on Books I’ve started reading )

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...