Patricia Wrightson

Posted on 3 November 2009. Filed under: Authors |

Today, being Melbourne Cup day, I should really be reviewing a book on Phar Lap or a book on racing as that would be really appropriate. I’m not really sporty or interested in anything relating to sport so I don’t have anything appropriate so you’ll just have to put up with a few words about Patricia Wrightson.

Patricia Wrightson is a very well respected Australian author. She was born in Lismore, New South Wales in 1921 and began her writing career in 1955 with The Crooked Snake which was a winner of the Children’s Book Council of Australia Book of the Year in 1956. While I could only find 28 titles she’s written between 1955 and 1997 she is so well respected that they named an award after her – NSW Premier’s Literary Award, Patricia Wrightson Prize for children’s literature ($30,000). Not many Australian authors can say they have an award named after them and even fewer were alive when it happened. Out of those 28 titles, 12 of them have received awards. She even received an OBE in 1977!

In 1968 she wrote two books called: A Racecourse for Andy; and I Own the Racecourse! I don’t have either of these but I do recall another book she wrote was always a favourite in my childhood. The Nargun and The Stars was published in 1973 and so I must have read it new. It had a fabulous kind of magic and lead me into the world I always considered to be Aboriginal, one that is very close to the earth and to the cycles of the seasons. The rest of her writing is just as good and I’d be happy to recommend any of her books. I’ll just list some on the website.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

