Archive for November 7th, 2009

Happy Birthday Neil Gaiman

Posted on 7 November 2009. Filed under: Authors |

Neil Richard Gaiman, author and screen writer. He’s written a number of excellent books and I’m told the films he’s written the screenplays for are also excellent but I haven’t actually seen any of them as yet. There’s still plenty of time so I’m not ruling out seeing them I just haven’t…as yet. Not being a big fan of Neil Gaiman I’m not really in tune with his news and what he does in the UK so when I discovered it will be his birthday in a few days I decided I’d be ahead of myself for a change and blog about him before it happened. So, I did as anyone does nowadays and googled him. I found his blog, not terribly hard but I was astounded by what I found. I could have spent more time blogging about his writing and talking about his collaboration with Terry Pratchett or I could talk about his movies (bit silly, but I’ve done sillier things before) but I’m not.

He’s talking about the Graveyard Book parties and how the bookshops throw a party and get to enter their party into a competition, including an invitation, signage and the other thousand and one arrangements that one puts together for a party. The entries are judged by the publisher who chooses the 11 best entries and submits them to Neil Gaiman for a final choice. Gaiman will then attend that bookshop sometime in December for a signing.

I looked at the blog entries talking about this and thought ‘What a brilliant idea’. It means that instead of being assigned a signing date or having the largest shops get the signing, all the small shops get a chance to have Neil Gaiman attend their shop for a signing. This gives the small shops a boost to their sales for the signing but it also gives them a boost to their sales for the party. It raises their profile in their community and even further away so they have a better chance of surviving.

So, happy birthday to Neil Gaiman and thank you for helping small bookshops.

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( Comments Off on Happy Birthday Neil Gaiman )

  • Twitterspace

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Terry Pratchett 2010 Reading Challenge

    Terry Pratchett Reading Challenge 2010

  • Dewey’s Read-a-thon

  • Australian Book Blogger Directory

    Photobucket

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...