Anne Rice – The Feast of All Saints

Posted on 8 December 2009. Filed under: Book Reviews |

Set in New Orleans before the American Civil War, this is the story of the “Free People of Color”, descended from slaves, and their French and Spanish owners. Among their number is Marcel, an artist in the making, also his gentle sister Marie and Anna Bella, a beautiful young courtesan.

Anyway, that’s the synopsis and I can tell you it certainly has Marcel and Marie in it but that’s about all I can tell you. I read this in audio book and I can’t tell you whether it’s because I wasn’t interested or that it’s abridged but it didn’t make the slightest bit of sense to me. It’s not because I heard it over a series of interrupted car trips as I’ve heard a number of books that way and haven’t had that trouble before. I’m hoping it’s because it was abridged and that so much was cut out that it just didn’t make sense. If there’s anyone out there in blog land who’s read this book and can tell me what it’s about and whether it makes sense I’d be intensely grateful.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

