Twitter

Posted on 10 December 2009. Filed under: Interesting websites |

I’m having a fabulous time with Twitter. For a long time I only used it for telling people what I’d listed and about my blog and other rather boring stuff.

A few days ago I found a friend on it and followed her, she followed me and we had a conversation on Twitter. Much hilarity followed as we found more friends and connected with each one. I also followed some of the retweets she’d made and some retweets others had made and found myself looking at a competition run by Penguin Australia.

Basically, you had to look at a page of the new Penguin reprints, tell them which one you wanted to win and why. I choose one book (the title escapes my memory) figured out a reason and when I went to enter it into Twitter found a friend had already done that one for the same reason. I decided she had a much better chance of winning that than I did and I didn’t want to compete with her so I chose a different book and won! Sadly, my friend didn’t. So, the book I chose is called Regeneration and I said something to the effect of…Regeneration, because my body has to look good some time this century. I’m now waiting rather impatiently for my winning book as I’d like to read it and find out what it’s about.

My suggestion to all you bookies out there in blogland is to join Twitter and follow all the publishing houses you can find. If you happen to be on at the same time as they post their competitions then you should enter.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

