Black Saturday

Posted on 7 February 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: |

This time last year was a dreadful time for all involved. The weather was shocking with the temperature going up to 47 degrees celsius and huge gusts of wind it felt like walking in a furnace, adding to the horror weather some fires had started outside Melbourne. I’d had a Discworld meeting on Black Saturday and coming home by train was just disgusting, I can’t even imagine how people in and near the fires must have felt. 173 people died during those fires and so many houses were destroyed completely, the countryside was devastated with so many animals being caught up in it. There were very few happy stories.

We’d been booked at Marysville on Australian Day but had to change it to Labour Day due to my Step-Dad’s passing. We never made it to Marysville and haven’t yet decided when to return there but we will. A week or two after the fires had started to become under control I managed to get through to the people who ran the cottages we’d booked into and was so relieved to hear they were all okay. I heard their story and refused their offer of a refund on our deposit as I figured it was the last thing they needed, I also hoped we’d be able to stay with them again some day. I don’t know when or if that will happen as I’m struggling to find them on the internet. Maybe they’re among those people who have moved elsewhere to start afresh and if so, I don’t blame them and will be wishing them all the best.

I’ve been listening to so many remembrances over the last couple of days and have been trying to figure out how I could do a minute’s silence on a blog…it’s just too difficult and so I ask you all to spare a thought for those who lost loved ones, or were injured or lost pets and property. It’s only been a year and the healing and rebuilding has only just begun.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

