Second Australian Jewish Genealogy Conference

Posted on 8 March 2010. Filed under: Conventions I've attended | Tags: , , , |

Those of you who’ve been following me on Twitter or Facebook will know that I’ve been volunteering at a conference this weekend. If you’ve been following my blog you might have guessed I like conventions and conferences. It’s not the sessions and the information I like to go along for but the vibes and meeting people and most especially the organising. I really like to hang around on Registration and foyers and just talk to people and inhale the vibes. So, when my other half’s committee decided to tackle the task of putting on a Conference in Melbourne I promptly offered my help. It was mostly ignored but they did put me on the roster to sit in the library and help people. I figured most people would be in the sessions during the times I was rostered there so I took my computer and tried to work. I did eventually manage to write a blog, but it took me two days as I kept on getting interrupted.

I had a very exciting time, the conference was very well organised and all the speakers I sat in on were of the highest quality. One of the speakers was Yuval Rotem, the Israeli Ambassador to Australia and immediately following him was Arnold Zable, author of Jewels and Ashes and also Café Scheherazade. I will be writing more about Arnold Zable and what I got out of his talk in a future blog as it was very interesting and related directly to writing.

There were talks about Germany and how to find those little details such as town of birth as well talks on many other countries. We even had a talk by Professor Martin Delatycki who spoke on genetic diseases among Jewish people. There was also a talk on Writing Your Family Newsletters.

I’ve come away with lots of topics to blog about, including the library I was sitting in. I did have more to say about all this but it might have to wait as I managed to catch a cold this weekend thanks to the lovely Melbourne weather so my mind is rather scatty and I think of something to write and immediately forget about it.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

