Punctuation

Posted on 24 March 2010. Filed under: Interesting websites | Tags: , , |

Punctuation is a wondrous invention. It helps with so many things…well, actually, it really only helps with reading and meaning, but I’d just like to exaggerate for a little. I’m always trying to improve my use of punctuation as I do like to ensure my meaning gets across to the reader in the correct manner. I’ve come across a few sites recently, with thanks to people on Twitter, which have helped my mission.

The Writer’s Butt Does Not Apply To Me illustrates a lost comma. Personally, I don’t want to eat Grandpa.
Thank you to Elizabeth S Craig.

Author, Terry Odell, directed me to a lovely page which illustrates how changing the punctuation can totally change how we read a sentence. I know this one is fairly old but it’s still good, visit Punctuation for Men and Women for a look.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take note of the lovely person who directed me towards the The Oatmeal so I can’t credit them; it is nice to be able to use them correctly after all these years.

One Response to “Punctuation”

RSS Feed for Suz's Space Blog Comments RSS Feed

Just thought you’d like to know, since you’re interested in punctuation: I believe the commas around Terry Odell are incorrect. — Laura (at http://terriblywrite.wordpress.com)


Comments are closed.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

