Embers – Laura Bickle

Posted on 27 May 2010. Filed under: Book Reviews | Tags: , , |

I was fortunate enough to get this book from a fellow blogger TezMillerOz.

Embers - Laura Bickle

Anya is an arson investigator with the Detroit Fire Department while moonlighting with a team of eccentric ghost hunters. Anya is the rarest type of psychic medium, a Lantern, and suspects a supernatural arsonist is setting fires to summon a fiery ancient entity that will leave the city in cinders.

This is Laura Bickle’s first book and I can’t wait for the second one. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. There’s fantasy, gritty reality in downtown Detroit, a familiar of the best kind and the most gorgeous ghosts, I particularly liked the librarian who had to stay as she had so many books to read. I didn’t like the sex scene, maybe it’s just me not liking these sort of things in my books or maybe it’s because it showed how little self-control Anya had is something I can’t tell you. The scene itself was nicely written but I don’t get why a character who is usually so strong in so many ways gives in to temptation on this one occasion. Most of the other characters are well written and almost jump out of the page.

It’s not the sort of book I would have picked up if I’d seen it in a shop or a library as I don’t generally read paranormal, but I’m glad I did read it. It is well put together with a nice progression and is certainly a page turner. At one point with very little to go I had to see how many pages were left to see if I could afford the time to sit and finish, unfortunately there were too many pages so it had to wait.

2 Responses to “Embers – Laura Bickle”

RSS Feed for Suz's Space Blog Comments RSS Feed

I’m so glad that you took a chance on EMBERS and liked it! It means so much to a newbie writer like me to know that others are enjoying it. Thank you so much for taking the time to read it and write about it. 🙂

I’m so glad you wrote the book and got a contract. Can’t wait for the next one.

Thank you for coming here and commenting. Very excited to have an author comment on my blog.


Comments are closed.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

