M*A*S*H*

Posted on 13 June 2010. Filed under: Collections | Tags: , |

4077 M*A*S*H*. Those numbers and letters evoke such memories. In some people they evoke memories of the war the TV series was created to depict and in some they evoke memories of the series themselves and in other they evoke memories of the books. The first book was published in 1968 and inspired the original movie which was released in 1970. The books were originally written by Richard Hooker but after the first three, William Butterworth wrote the rest in a much lighter tone.

I spent a lot of time in my childhood watching the TV series, it was one I could watch again and again without getting bored. When I discovered the books as a young adult I started collecting and I’m still collecting them. They are rather different to the TV series. The TV series focusses on the war and the happenings there while the books mostly focus on the antics the crew get up to after the war. The series lasted much longer than the war they were created to depict.

On the whole the TV series is much more realistic than the books. The books are fun and I do wonder how much longer I’ll collect them.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

